Old fashioned cold weather dinner

Nova Scotia! A land of beauty; of rugged seacoasts, where the waters lash up like so many frothy petticoats in a vain effort to cover up the naked cliffs.

From the introduction to Out of Old Nova Scotia Kitchens by Marie Nightingale

Today’s dinner was the sort of traditional dinner most of my meals don’t resemble anymore. A protein, potatoes, and three vegetables. The protein is a chickpea cutlet from Veganomicon. These cutlets are raved about by some but they not my favourite meal. I don’t like the chewiness, thoughwhen smothered with a pungent sauce they are acceptable. I am not a big fan of anything made with wheat gluten and usually avoid it.

I had made some of the cutlets for Thanksgiving and froze the extras, uncooked, with wax paper separating each one. Tonight I pulled a couple from the freezer and cooked them in my trusty cast iron frying pan for about 8 minutes on each side. Normally I would have a sauce for them but tonight I <don’t read any further if you are a food snob> ate some of mine with the potatoes and put ketchup on the rest.

The potatoes are the delectable Lemony Roasted Potatoes from Veganomicon. I only had yellow potatoes, not russets, so they turned out stickier than they should have, but still delicious.

Apple half hour pudding

One of my favourite cookbooks is Out of Old Nova Scotia Kitchens. It has just been published as a 40th anniversary edition, but my copy comes from 1981 and was originally my mom’s.

I could remember mom making a butterscotch cake pudding with sauce when I was a kid but as an adult could not find the recipe. Not being able to ask her, I would occasionally look through my recipe books and, later, the internet, for the recipe. Finally one day I was reading through recipes in this cookbook and realized the nondescript name Half Hour Pudding was the butterscotch dessert I craved.

I only make it rarely because it is very sweet and the rest of the family is not so fond. The cake part and sauce part are mixed separately and the sauce is poured over the cake once it is in the pan. Tonight I added chopped apples to the batter but I like it better without.

 

Here is the original recipe:

Half Hour Pudding

1 tbsp shortening

½ tsp salt

½ cup sugar

½ cup milk

1 cup flour

½ to 1 cup raisins

1 ½ tsp baking powder

½ tsp vanilla

Cream shortening and mix in order given, alternating milk

with the sifted dry ingredients. Put in a greased baking dish

and pour over it the following sauce:

2/3 cups brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla or ¼ tsp nutmeg

1 ½ cup boiling water

¾ tbsp butter [or margarine]

Bake in a moderate oven (350°) for 30 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

